Makin’ You Proud

“You told me to go back to the beginning. So I have.” – Inigo Montoya, Princess Bride

My path was shaped from the moment I was born. (Thanks, again, Mom and Dad.) It has taken me a long time to realize I was even on a path and to appreciate it. It took even longer to realize that I could alter the shape of my path.

YES! We can affect our paths. Really!

You can choose to be happy. I have chosen happiness, calm, and inner peace. I hope you choose to come along with me as I continue on this path.

We all have trials throughout our lives. Some bigger than others. Some feel really big but in retrospect they aren’t that big. The size doesn’t matter. When you are going through your trial, your miserable experience, your hell, it feels HUGE. And at that moment it IS huge to you. Anything outside of that moment you can’t even see or think about because NOW is AWFUL!

And that is OK. It is really OK to feel horrible, miserable, sad, angry, and all of those other negative things when you go through your trial.

The question is… What are you going to do when it’s over? 

Will you…

  • Move forward?
  • Learn from it?
  • Use it to make yourself better?
  • Hold a grudge?
  • Use it as an excuse for your bad behavior?

There’s the old adage “that which does not kill you makes you stronger”. I believe that is true if you want it to be true. There’s that choice thing again! (Thank you, God, for free will.)

There are so many things that I can look back on and say “that was really terrible” throughout my life. But today I will not say “I remain angry because that happened”. I will be stronger!

Not long after I was married, my father died. It was AWFUL! It was unexpected. He was the love of my mother’s life. I was his little girl. My younger brothers barely had a chance to know him as adults. My husband didn’t get a chance to really know him. My son will never know him. I miss him so much. So much sadness!

But it happened and there is nothing that I could have done to prevent it. There is nothing that I can do now to change it. So am I going to live my life being sad and miserable and saying things like “well, my dad died so I get to be mean”?

NO WAY!

It doesn’t feel good to be sad or angry. It feels just plain icky.

(C’mon. If you’re really honest with yourself, do you like feeling down? Really? You don’t have to tell me, but be honest with you. You have to live with you.)

So, I choose happiness. And I know that choosing this would make my dad proud. Which makes me happier. A not so vicious cycle.

Don’t let your past be an excuse. Don’t let it dictate how you live now.

DO learn from it. DO move forward with your new knowledge.

Your past is like the wake from a boat…

“The wake is nothing more than the trail that is left behind, and it has no power in the present. It does not and cannot drive the boat. The trail that you have left behind cannot drive your life today…” – Dr. Wayne Dyer, 10 Secrets for Success and Inner Peace

5 thoughts on “Makin’ You Proud

Leave a Reply

