Is that with a ‘B’???

For those of you unfamiliar with the Powerball, it is an American, multi-state lottery. It is currently at its largest jackpot in history. It might even be the largest in the history of the world!

The estimated jackpot for tomorrow night’s drawing is $1.5 billion.

That is not a typo. It is BILLION.

So, friends of Dream Bigger, I will admit that while I don’t usually participate in the lottery I do have a ticket. And I am participating in the office pool. (Could you imagine if our company shut their doors because the entire staff shared $1.5 billion? That’s actually pretty funny to think about.)

I want to know what your dreams are. What would you do with that much money?

The first thing I would do is go to the bank and get wads of $10 bills just to throw in the air! Because that just looks like fun!

I would pay off my own debt and my family’s debt. But I don’t think that I would pay off their houses because it is good to have some sort of credit, right? I would give everyone enough money to be able to make their payments without worry, though.

Now for the fun stuff!

In no particular order…

  • Buy a house near the beach in Duck, North Carolina
  • Travel to Australia and stay until I get bored
  • Get an apartment in Austin, TX so I can help ‘keep Austin weird’
  • Go on an Alaskan cruise to see the Northern Lights
  • Randomly hand out $100 bills in various towns
  • Spend some time traveling around Europe, especially Italy
  • Randomly pay for people’s groceries when I go shopping
  • Fly first class at least once
  • Build my dream house which will have a 2 story high library
  • Go to some writing seminars
  • Go to Lego Land
  • Drink margaritas in Margaritaville
  • Drink scotch in Scotland
  • Eat malasadas in Portugal
  • Eat croissants in France

I would share all of these things with my husband and son and various family members who want to come along. (One of my brothers and I swore we’d see the Norther Lights together.) There would be no cutting costs and sharing hotel rooms! We don’t need that much closeness.

I would also make sure that I remained humble and grateful. I would continue to work, probably part-time in a local art store. I would continue to pray. And I would always say ‘thank you’ for my great fortune.

What would you do with $1.5 billion?

Dream bigger!

4 thoughts on “Is that with a ‘B’???

  1. You have neglected to write about how you will be hounded at ever turn. People will be holding out their hand for a piece. The lawyers, the real estate agents and the taxmen. Honestly have you actually handed out 100 dollar bills? I expect you think that these types of events would not change you? Maybe.. but then again maybe they will? I never play lotteries, anymore. For me it’s little more than a tax on the stupid? Sorry, if that stings? For a very long time gambling was controlled by the mafia? Do you really think that’s changed? Who runs governments now?

    Good luck to you. I hope you are able to stick the negativity down my throat? For the chances of success, in this endeavour are remarkably slim. I am not a particularly religious person. Even so, it is said it is easier for a camel to pass through the eye of a needle than it is for a rich person to enter the kingdom of heaven?

    Anyone can eat croissants in France, etc. I’ve seen the northern lights while working. Several times. Wealth is not measured in dollars and cents. It is measured in happiness. Best wishes for your win …! Cheers Jamie.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

