So loving…

Bambino never ceases to amaze me. He also keeps me grounded and reminds me to love.

With spring approaching we are starting to see the beginnings of new life. The crocuses are starting to bloom. The daffodils are budding and blooming. The geese are pairing off and nesting. It is such an amazing time of year.

This past weekend we set our clocks ahead an hour to Daylight Saving Time. (No, it’s not Daylight Savings Time. Honest.) I forgot to change my clocks until 7:30 Sunday morning as I was making breakfast. AHHHH!!! I just lost an hour of my day! Then I grumbled about having to wake up in the dark. Again. And drive to work in the dark. Again. <grumble, grumble, grumble>

On Sunday afternoon, though, Bambino did and said something that reminded me that

  1. It’s not all about me. (Yeah, I was surprised, too.)
  2. The world is an amazing place and we should take a moment to look at it and just Be in it.

It went a little something like this…

“Let’s go! It’s time to come in and get washed up. Don’t make me tell you again!”

“Wait, Mommy. Could you come out here for a minute?”

<Grumble>

“I picked some flowers for you. Put them in your hair. And look. See this little flower that is trying to grow?”

He had picked some little white flowers that I would have called weeds any other day. Then he pointed to a daffodil bud that was growing wild in the backyard.

“Well, I picked some of these little flowers to give to the bigger flower so it would have some love and grow better.”

20160317_174116

He is so romantic that he gives flowers flowers!

He is also so open to be able to see that everything needs love, even the little wild daffodils that are trying to grow and not sure if the weather is going to stay warm for them to bloom or if there will be another frost to suffer through.

We all need love. The smallest, weakest all the way to the biggest and strongest. And love can be defined so many ways. A smile, a hug, a kind word, a note, a small task, just sitting with someone.

When was the last time you offered ‘love’ to a stranger? A smile can go a long way. When was the last time you gave ‘love’ to a friend? An email from out of the blue can cheer someone more than you may ever know. When was the last time you really loved your spouse, partner, significant other? (I’m not being dirty! 🙂 ) I mean when was the last time you did something for them or with them just because? Not because you felt like you had to. Not because you were hoping for something in return. 😉

Take a moment to love the way we are meant to love. Unconditionally. Notice all of the beauty around you. Share that beauty with someone. Be truly grateful for the beauty and love in your life.

In doing so you’ll feel ever more love returned to you. When you love and give without any expectations you will truly be surprised by how much love comes back to you. I am always amazed by the peace and kindness I see and feel when I open my heart and eyes to love.

I wish for you that you can find some beauty and love. I wish for you that you are able to be grateful for it. And I wish for you that you are able to share it.


All pictures were taken by me.

 

Leave a Reply

