Coming Out…

…Of the Nerd Closet.

Hello, my name is Theresa and I am a nerd.

I know… Nerds run the world these days. Geeks are cool now. That wasn’t always the case but I am super glad that things have changed.

Growing up I would say that my best friends fell into the ‘nerd/geek’ category. Which worked out well since I was… we’ll say ‘not quite as academic’. We balanced each other well. Seriously, my closest friends in high school and today are the smartest people I know. 🙂

In the past couple of years I changed career paths from Customer Service to IT (Quality Analyst to be specific) and I couldn’t be happier. I work with a great group of guys – yes, all men. I have a great manager. And the work I do is rewarding and enjoyable and challenging. I love technology!

For a long time I have thought of myself as a Customer Service Rep. I really like talking to people and helping people and Customer Service was the thing to do with a Communications degree. I am good at it, too. 🙂 I’ve done it now for nearly 20 years!

But just the other day I was chatting with my carpool buddy, R, and we were talking shop. He happens to be a developer. (He develops. I break/find bugs. He works harder. hahaha) Anyway, we were talking about work and nerds and geeky things and eventually got to previous work experience.

I started listing my previous Customer Service gigs…

  • Office Manager at an ophthalmologist’s office where I happened to help install and train everyone on the software upgrade
  • Customer Service Supervisor at a company where I happened to help test the new in-house software system our IT team developed
  • Sr. Client Account Manager at a company where I also happened to find bugs in the software, test new development, create test plans for new development
  • Although not Customer Service per se, I helped a company design web pages and took some basic Visual Basic courses.

Holy crap! I’ve been in IT my whole adult life!

20141031_124202

Then I started thinking about the TV shows and movies I enjoy, the characters I like to watch, the books I like to read. ‘Bill Nye the Science Guy’, ‘Big Bang Theory’, ‘Doctor Who’, ‘Star Trek’ (the new moves with the hottie Chris Pine), ‘The X-Files’, Marvel comic movies, Velma from ‘Scooby Doo’ (my Halloween 2014 costume), science fiction…

Holy crap! I’m a nerd! And probably have been my whole life.

Then I started thinking about my friends and family. Kid Brother and Baby Brother are Star Wars and Doctor Who fans and proud of it! Baby Brother even asked for a Yoda onesie for Christmas. He got one from Bambino. And Baby Brother got a Chewbacca onesie for Bambino. (The big one got the little character’s costume and the little one got big character’s costume.)  An ex-boyfriend was totally into computers when we dated ages ago and still is. My best friend graduated in the top 3 in high school, college, and med school. So many other friends were Honor Society members. My mom took summer school classes, on purpose, to get ahead.

20151225_093832Holy crap! I’m surrounded by nerds! And have been my whole life.

My adorable 7 year old son asked me when he saw my socks for my Velma costume, “Mommy, what’s a nerd?”

“Well sweetheart, it is a person who is smart and enjoys learning things.”

“I’m a nerd!” he exclaimed proudly.

“Yes. Yes you are.”

Dear Husband is a nerd, too. He seeks out learning videos for his down-time and educational toys for Bambino. He will spend hours researching something until he knows it inside and out. He is on the list of the smartest people I know.

Holy crap! I’m going to be surrounded by nerds for the rest of my life! 

❤  I am pretty lucky! ❤

Friends… Embrace your inner Nerd. Embrace your inner Musician or Artist or Writer or Engineer or Doctor or Nurse or Lineman or whatever. Follow YOUR path. If you’re not sure if you’re on the right path, take a moment to turn around and check out where you’ve been. I confirmed that I am on the right path by taking that little walk down memory lane with R in the car.

May you always march to the beat of YOUR (insert instrument here).

4 thoughts on “Coming Out…

Leave a Reply

