Find Inspiration. Choose happy.

Sometimes I wait to feel moved before I write. Other times it just feels like the ‘write’ thing to do. (I couldn’t resist that one.) This one is a little bit of both.

I passed one of our VPs the other day in the hall and he said, “Look at you. You’re always smiling.” My response was, “I try.” And that is a true statement. I make an effort to stay smiling and positive. One of the ways I do that is by finding inspiration. I look to everything to find something to keep me happy, to inspire me. We cannot be happy and unhappy at the same time. One negates the other so I find something, anything, to make me happy. I choose happy. I find happy inspiration.

I have been following a great blog where the author writes daily about acts of kindness she’s performing for an entire year! (Keep up the great work, girl!) She has inspired me to not only ‘do kind’ but to be kind. It’s not always about actions, sometimes it’s about words. We don’t always have to be right.

Cara Amica has been having a tough time at work lately with various changes going on. The other day I was heading out to run an errand and I asked if she needed anything. She looked at me with a look that said ‘a HUGE bottle of tequila, please.’ Needless to say, I was not going to let her get drunk at work. (We’ll save that for the weekends.) But while I was out, I picked up a potted plant – yellow gerbera daisies! – and a bubble wand. Totally made her day! And every day she blows the bubbles. 🙂

My cara amica is such an inspiration because she is able to see the flowers and go right to her happy place in her mind. She finds peace that quickly. She also volunteers with a nature and animal rescue group and LOVES every minute of it! Talk about inspiring work.

Today – this is what prompted this post – I found inspiration in another friend (and colleague). He is going through radiation therapy for cancer. He’s been dealing with doctors and surgery and tests for months now. And every day that I see him he says ‘it could be worse.’ No matter how tough things get he works to remind himself, and those around him, that this is not as bad as it could be.

And, of course, writing about him makes me think of all of the other people I know who have gone through (or are going through) really tough medical procedures, dealt with medication side effects, gotten themselves past the addiction of prescription medications, sat by the bedside and held the hand of a loved one who went through any of these things. So many people I know are so incredibly strong! I am LUCKY to know all of you! I am inspired by YOU!*

Hey! I’m lucky to know me! I’ve done some of those things, too!

The couples who opt to work on their marriage are amazing! Living with someone and having a life with someone is not always easy. I don’t think that relationships, of any kind, were meant to be easy. But that is a whole different ball of wax. When we decide to spend the rest of our lives with someone, to get married, we don’t know everything that is to come. We have chosen someone to stand by our sides through thick and thin. When the ‘thick’ gets heavy or boring or just plain ‘bleh’ some people decide to part ways. However there are people who seek help and that inspires me! It renews my belief in marriage. I’m reminded to be grateful for all of the small things that Dear Husband does. I’m reminded to be more loving. And I’m reminded to work on our communication so things don’t get ‘bleh’.

As you’ve probably read, Bambino is a constant source of inspiration. I learn from him every day.

I challenge you to find inspiration in something today. And may you stay inspired!

 

4 thoughts on “Find Inspiration. Choose happy.

Leave a Reply

